Updated September 2026. Product specifications come from Andersen and Marvin. How we research products
Andersen E-Series
- Manufacturer
- Andersen
- Collection
- Andersen Architectural Collection
- Construction
- Wood interior with an extruded aluminum exterior
- Made to order
- Custom sizes in 1/8-inch increments; custom shapes, 50 standard exterior colors, custom colors, anodized finishes and a wide interior wood species list
Marvin Ultimate
- Manufacturer
- Marvin
- Collection
- Marvin Signature Ultimate
- Construction
- Wood interior with an extruded aluminum exterior; natural wood exteriors offered on select products
- Made to order
- Custom sizes in 1/64-inch increments; specialty shapes, 19 standard clad colors plus custom, six subsill profiles
The main difference is not the material. Both lines put wood on the room side and extruded aluminum on the weather side. That is exactly why two bids on these products can land far apart while looking almost identical on the cover sheet: the money is in configuration, geometry, finish specification, glass, hardware and dealer scope, not in a frame-material argument. Illustrations are UpgradeWorth drawings, not product photographs. No winner is declared.
UpgradeWorth has not physically tested either product. Every product fact below is drawn from current Andersen and Marvin documentation, with the source named. We publish no national dollar-per-opening average for either line, because neither manufacturer publishes installed pricing and inventing one would make this page worse, not better.
You have two architectural bids on the desk. One says Andersen E-Series, the other says Marvin Ultimate. Both are clad wood. Both come from dealers who talk about craftsmanship. And the totals are thousands apart, with nothing on either page that obviously explains why. That gap is almost always scope, and scope is recoverable before you sign.
Why this is a normalization problem, not a versus question
On a mid-tier comparison the frame material does most of the explaining. Put a vinyl-clad window next to a fiberglass-clad one and you are looking at two different products with two different maintenance stories. That is the ground Andersen 400 vs Marvin Elevate covers, and if that is the tier you are actually shopping, read that page instead.
This tier is different. E-Series and Ultimate are both made-to-order, wood-interior, extruded-aluminum-clad architectural products. Andersen describes E-Series as part of its Architectural Collection, made to exact specifications, with custom shapes, dramatic sizes and a large palette of exterior colors and interior wood species. Marvin describes extruded aluminum as an extremely tough cladding that protects wood windows and mimics the profiles of wood, and calls it the most commonly ordered exterior material for Ultimate products.
So the useful question is not which line is better. It is: are these two quotes describing the same building? Until they are, the totals are not comparable, and a homeowner who picks the cheaper number without normalizing scope is usually buying a smaller project rather than a better deal.
What each line actually is
| Andersen E-Series | Marvin Ultimate | |
|---|---|---|
| Position | Andersen Architectural Collection, alongside A-Series and the Big Doors range. Made to exact design specifications. | Marvin Signature collection. Marvin positions Ultimate as its widest range of sizes, wood species, colors, finishes and hardware. |
| Exterior | Extruded aluminum cladding. Andersen states its exterior colors are offered at no additional cost, with two-, three- and four-tone exteriors available and seven anodized finishes. | Extruded aluminum cladding finished in commercial-grade paint. Natural wood exteriors are also offered on select products in pine, vertical grain Douglas fir and mahogany, with Accoya available as an exterior trim option only. |
| Exterior color range | 50 standard exterior colors, plus custom color matching and seven anodized finishes. | 19 standard extruded aluminum colors including three pearlescent finishes, plus custom color. |
| Exterior finish specification | Two coating systems. A silicone polyester enamel to AAMA 2604, and a Kynar fluoropolymer system to AAMA 2605. The warranty terms differ between them — see below. | Marvin publishes AAMA 2605 as the standard clad finish, described on its product pages as protected by a 20-year warranty against loss of adhesion, chalking and fading. |
| Interior wood | Andersen lists a broad species range for E-Series including pine, maple, oak, white oak, cherry, alder, hickory, walnut, mahogany (sourced as Sapele or Sipo), and vertical and mixed grain Douglas fir, and states it will attempt to source other species that meet its production standards. | Marvin lists six interior species for Ultimate: cherry, mixed grain Douglas fir, Honduran mahogany, pine, vertical grain Douglas fir and white oak. |
| Interior finish | Factory-applied stains, painted interior options and a primed option. Andersen notes that custom finishes and the primed option require additional finishing on site, and that some nail and staple holes may need filling first. | Factory stains (clear, wheat, honey, hazelnut, leather, cabernet, espresso) and paints (designer black, white, primed white). |
| Custom sizing | Andersen publishes custom sizes in 1/8-inch increments across its series. | Marvin publishes custom sizes in 1/64-inch increments on Ultimate windows and doors. |
| Published size ceilings | Published per product. Andersen lists standard sizes up to 4 feet wide and 8 feet high on the E-Series double-hung, with custom sizing beyond that. | Published per product on marvin.com — for example glider up to 14 feet wide, corner up to 7 by 12 feet, Double Hung G2 up to 5 feet 6 inches by 10 feet 6 inches. |
| Specialty geometry | Custom shapes, dramatic sizes and combinations are a core part of how Andersen positions the line. | Dedicated Ultimate Specialty Shape window with standard and custom sizes; bay, bow and direct glaze listed as expansive custom sizes. |
| Glass and coastal | High-Performance Low-E4 glass family and Stormwatch impact-resistant product systems. Laminated glass is sold under the Protector Series and HarborMaster names. | Dual and triple-pane options (triple-pane availability varies by product) and Impact Zone 3 (IZ3) certified products across casement, awning, Double Hung G2, picture and several door types. |
| Trim and sill detail | Exterior trim profiles are offered, but note that Andersen excludes exterior trim profiles and exterior aluminum coil stock from the painted-aluminum finish warranty. | Six extruded aluminum subsill profiles plus custom clad subsills for historical matching. Optional factory-applied exterior casing is finished in the same AAMA 2605 paint as the cladding. |
| U-factor / SHGC | Not published as a single line-wide range. Configuration dependent — read the NFRC label on the exact unit. | Not published as a single line-wide range. Marvin publishes energy data per product. Configuration dependent. |
| Price position | Not publicly specified. | Not publicly specified. |
Specifications from Andersen and Marvin product and warranty documentation. Empty or unspecified fields mean the value is not published, not that it is zero.
Why two architectural bids can diverge before labor is even compared
Work this in order. Each step either matches or it does not, and a mismatch at any step means the totals below it are describing different projects. Only the last step is about price.
1. The unit schedule is doing more work than you think
On architectural projects, dealers frequently propose different ways of filling the same hole in the wall. One bid may mull three casements into a single factory unit; the other may quote three separate units field-mulled on site. Both are legitimate. They are not the same product, they do not install the same way, and — importantly — Marvin excludes field mulls from its Limited Warranty, while Andersen excludes units improperly assembled or improperly mulled by others. A factory mull and a field mull are different risk positions as well as different prices.
The same applies to operable versus fixed. Swapping a casement for a picture unit, or a venting picture for a direct glaze, changes hardware, screens, egress and cost all at once.
2. Custom geometry is where architectural bids really separate
Both lines will build shapes. Marvin publishes a dedicated Ultimate Specialty Shape window in standard and custom sizes, and lists bay, bow and direct glaze as expansive custom sizes. Andersen builds E-Series to exact design specifications and positions custom shapes and dramatic sizes as the point of the line.
But the increments differ, and that is a practical detail rather than a bragging right: Andersen publishes custom sizing in 1/8-inch increments, Marvin in 1/64-inch increments on Ultimate. On a historic opening that has moved over a century, the finer increment can mean a tighter fit with less shimming and less trim rework. On a square new opening it will not matter at all. What matters for your quote is whether both dealers have actually measured, or whether one has priced a standard size and left the custom adder off the page.
3. The exterior finish specification is the quietest gap on the page
This is the single detail most likely to make two clad-wood architectural bids diverge without either dealer saying anything misleading.
Andersen’s E-Series warranty covers two distinct coating systems, and they are not covered the same way. The silicone polyester enamel conforming to AAMA 2604 is warranted not to crack, check, peel, flake, blister or lose adhesion for twenty years, but is warranted against color fade beyond 5 delta E and against chalking for ten years. The Kynar fluorocarbon system conforming to AAMA 2605 carries twenty years on both — adhesion and fade/chalk. Andersen’s E-Series product literature states that its standard exterior colors meet AAMA 2604 and that AAMA 2605 color compliance is also available.
Marvin’s published position on Ultimate is different in structure: its standard exterior aluminum cladding finish is warranted per AAMA 2605-11 Sections 8.4 and 8.9 for twenty years against chalk, fade and loss of adhesion, and Marvin’s Ultimate product pages describe the standard 2605 finish as carrying a 20-year warranty against loss of adhesion, chalking and fading.
What this means on your quote. Two bids can both be described as “20-year finish warranty” and mean different things. Ask each dealer, in writing, which AAMA specification the quoted exterior finish meets — 2604 or 2605 — and whether the color you have chosen qualifies. If one quote is 2604 and the other 2605, that is a real specification difference on fade and chalk, and it belongs in the comparison before the totals do.
Anodized finishes sit differently again on both sides. Andersen warrants the anodized finish on E-Series cladding against cracking, crazing, flaking and blistering for five years. Marvin warrants anodized and other specialty exterior finishes for five years, and states plainly that they are not warranted in coastal environments at all. A homeowner who picks anodized for the look should know they are picking a shorter finish term on either brand.
4. Coastal changes the arithmetic on both sides
If the house is near salt water, read both coastal clauses rather than the headline term. Marvin reduces the standard cladding finish coverage to ten years within one mile of a sea coast or other salt water source. Andersen’s E-Series coastal terms are distance-banded: products installed between two miles and 1,001 feet from the seashore are warranted ten years, and products between 1,000 feet and the shore are warranted ten years but prorated after five. Andersen also requires a systematic fresh-water cleaning program at least every three months within two miles of the coast, and states that failure to do so voids the coverage.
That last point is a maintenance obligation, not a feature, and it almost never appears on a sales quote. Ask about it.
5. Glass is not one line item
On a premium architectural job the glass schedule is often several pages long and rarely identical between two bids. Andersen’s E-Series glass warranty runs twenty years for factory-glazed standard packages, but decorative glass is warranted against seal failure for ten years, and the twenty-year glass warranty explicitly does not apply to special order glazings, decorative glass, impact-resistant glass, or glass not factory installed by Andersen. Laminated glass in the Protector Series and HarborMaster systems is warranted ten years against stress cracking, thermal shock cracking and delamination.
Marvin warrants standard insulating glass with stainless steel spacers against seal failure for twenty years in sizes up to sixty square feet, and ten years at sixty square feet and larger. On an architectural project with monumental glazing, that size threshold is not theoretical.
Neither manufacturer publishes a line-wide U-factor or SHGC range, so the only honest comparison is unit by unit. If you are not sure how to read the numbers you are given, our guide to reading an NFRC label covers what to demand on the quote, and triple-pane versus double-pane covers when the extra glass is worth specifying.
6. Dealer scope is not part of the product
Both manufacturers exclude labor. Marvin states that removal, installation, finishing, refinishing and disposal costs and services are not included in its exclusive remedy. Andersen’s E-Series warranty excludes labor to replace sash or panels, labor and costs related to removal and disposal of defective product, and labor and materials to paint or stain any repaired or replaced product or the carpentry around it.
Which means every dollar of trim work, capping, disposal, permits and service response on your quote is the dealer’s scope, priced at the dealer’s discretion, and it is entirely normal for two dealers to draw that line in different places. That is not a scandal. It is the part you have to read.
The Architectural Quote Normalization Matrix
Take both written quotes and walk them against every row. Where a row genuinely cannot be matched, mark it NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE, stop comparing prices on that row, and ask the dealer to rewrite it. Anything not specified in writing is a gap the dealer still owes you.
| Normalize on | Andersen E-Series | Marvin Ultimate |
|---|---|---|
| Product and configuration | Every opening listed by E-Series product name and operation (casement, awning, double-hung, picture, transom, geometric shape, bay, bow, gliding or hinged patio door), with quantity, operator orientation and handing. Factory-mulled combinations identified as single units. | Every opening listed by Ultimate product name (Casement, Awning, Double Hung G2, Single Hung G2, Glider, Picture/Direct Glaze, Venting Picture, Corner, Bay, Bow, Specialty Shape, Wood Double Hung) with the same detail. Factory mull, reinforced factory mull or field mull kit stated explicitly. A factory mull on one quote and a field mull on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Frame and sash material construction | Wood interior with extruded aluminum exterior cladding. Interior species named per opening. Confirm whether any exterior wood is exposed in the configuration, because it carries its own shorter term. | Wood interior with extruded aluminum exterior cladding as standard, or a natural wood exterior on select products (pine, vertical grain Douglas fir, mahogany). A clad exterior on one quote and a wood exterior on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE — different maintenance, different warranty, different price. |
| Interior finish | Named species plus named finish: factory stain, painted interior color, primed, or unfinished. Andersen notes custom finishes and the primed option require additional site finishing and that nail and staple holes may need filling. Confirm who does that work. | Named species plus named finish: clear, wheat, honey, hazelnut, leather, cabernet or espresso stain; designer black, white or primed white paint. Marvin does not cover factory-applied primer-only, and requires factory primer to be painted within ninety days of installation per its finishing instructions. A factory-finished interior on one quote and a site-finished interior on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Exterior finish and cladding | Named color and, critically, the named coating specification: AAMA 2604 or AAMA 2605. Andersen states 50 standard exterior colors with custom colors and anodized finishes available, and two-, three- and four-tone exteriors. Anodized carries a five-year finish term. | Named color from the 19 standard extruded aluminum colors, a pearlescent, or custom. Standard finish is AAMA 2605. Anodized and other specialty finishes carry a five-year term and are not warranted in coastal environments. 2604 on one quote and 2605 on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Glass package | Named glass per opening from the High-Performance Low-E4 family, argon fill, spacer type, tempering where required, any Stormwatch impact system, and any Protector Series or HarborMaster laminated glass. Decorative and special order glazings listed separately, since they sit outside the standard 20-year glass term. NFRC U-factor, SHGC and VT per unit. | Named Marvin glass package per opening, dual or triple pane, low-E coating, argon, spacer type, and any IZ3 impact rating. Any unit at or above sixty square feet flagged, because the insulating-glass seal term steps down at that size. NFRC U-factor, SHGC and VT per unit. Dual-pane on one quote and triple-pane on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Specialty shape / custom geometry | Every non-rectangular or oversized unit listed with its shape, radius or angle, its finished dimensions, and its custom-size adder shown as its own line. Andersen publishes custom sizing in 1/8-inch increments; confirm whether each opening was field-measured or priced from a standard size. | Same, using the Ultimate Specialty Shape product where applicable, plus bay, bow, corner and direct glaze as their own line items. Marvin publishes custom sizing in 1/64-inch increments. A radius top on one quote and a rectangle with an applied arch on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE, and so is a standard size on one and a field-verified custom on the other. |
| Divided lites and grilles | Pattern, type (simulated divided light, grilles between the glass, removable interior grilles), bar width and finish, per opening. On a historic match this is a design decision, not a trim detail. | Same three axes, plus the glazing profile — Marvin publishes ogee, putty and square exterior and interior sticking profiles on Ultimate, and the choice changes the look and the price. A different lite pattern or a different glazing profile between quotes is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Hardware | Lock, lift and operator style named per opening, with finish, and any upgrade identified as an upgrade. Andersen warrants hardware for ten years but excludes weathering of hardware finishes as a defect, with the exception of Limited Lifetime Brass. | Named Ultimate hardware family and finish — auto-locking system, traditional or contemporary lift lock, folding or push-out handle; door hardware traditional through minimalist, or a Gallery set from Ashley Norton, Bouvet or Rocky Mountain Hardware. Marvin warrants stainless steel and PVD-finish hardware in coastal environments for ten years and states other hardware finishes are not warranted in coastal environments. A standard set on one quote and a Gallery set on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Screens | Screen type and frame finish per operable opening, stated as included or excluded. Andersen warrants insect screens for ten years, but retractable door insect screens for one year only. | Screen type and frame finish per operable opening. Marvin covers screens as non-glass components at ten years. Screens on one quote and screens omitted on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE — it is a common and easy omission at this tier. |
| Trim, casing and subsill | Interior casing (reuse, patch and repaint, or replace to a named profile), jamb extensions to actual wall thickness, stool and apron, plus exterior trim profile and any aluminum coil-stock capping. Note that Andersen excludes exterior trim profiles and exterior aluminum coil stock from the painted-aluminum finish warranty, so capping is a dealer-scope item, not a product-warranty item. | Same interior list, plus the Ultimate-specific exterior detail: which of the six extruded aluminum subsill profiles is quoted (or a custom clad subsill for historical matching), and whether factory-applied exterior casing in matching AAMA 2605 paint is included. Factory casing on one quote and site-built trim on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Installation method | Stated per opening as insert into the existing frame or full-frame tear-out. Full-frame lines should carry sheathing repair, water-resistive barrier integration, flashing detail and sill pan. See insert vs full-frame. | Same distinction, stated per opening. Ultimate products are offered with pre-attached folding nailing fin and drip cap, through-jamb and installation bracket options — which method is quoted changes the exterior detailing and the labor. Insert on one quote and full-frame on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE, and the totals should not be compared until both dealers quote the same method. |
| Disposal | Old sash, frame, glass and debris listed as included or excluded, with a stated dumpster or haul-away line. Homes built before 1978 require EPA RRP lead-safe handling by a certified firm — confirm which party carries that. Andersen excludes removal and disposal costs from its warranty remedy. | Same, on the Marvin dealer’s scope. Marvin also excludes disposal costs and services from its exclusive remedy. Homeowner-disposes on one quote and dealer-hauls on the other is NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE. |
| Permits and review | Permit fees, whether the dealer pulls them, and any HOA or historic-district review, shown with a figure or noted as excluded. Architectural projects in historic districts frequently require approval of the lite pattern and exterior color before order. | Same. On either brand, a historic-district submission that has not been priced is a schedule risk as well as a cost risk. |
| Warranty and service responsibility | Andersen E-Series Owner-to-Owner limited warranty, which transfers to a new property owner on sale. Published terms include twenty years on standard factory-glazed glass, ten years on decorative glass seal failure, ten years on interior wood and wood composite components, five years on exterior wood, ten years on hardware, weatherstripping and insect screens, one year on retractable door insect screens, twenty years on painted aluminum against cracking and adhesion loss with the fade and chalk term depending on whether the finish is 2604 or 2605, and five years on anodized. Labour is excluded. Ask the installing dealer for its own labor warranty in writing. | Marvin Limited Warranty, effective January 12, 2026, fully transferable to the owner of the structure. Published terms include twenty years on standard insulating glass up to sixty square feet and ten years at sixty square feet and larger, ten years on non-tempered glass stress cracks, ten years on hardware and other non-glass components, twenty years on the standard exterior aluminum cladding finish per AAMA 2605-11, five years on anodized and specialty exterior finishes, five years on factory-applied interior wood finish, two years on factory-installed sensors and five years on Marvin Connected Home motorized operators. Removal, installation, finishing, refinishing and disposal are excluded, and claims must be made within sixty days of the defect appearing. Ask the installing dealer for its own labor warranty in writing. |
| Total installed quote | Line-item subtotals for units, custom-size and shape adders, finish upgrades, glass upgrades, hardware upgrades, install labor, trim and capping, disposal and permits, then taxable subtotal, tax and installed total. Financing, if offered, listed separately at the quoted APR. | The same structure on the Marvin side. If any row above is marked NON-EQUIVALENT SCOPE, do not compare the two totals. Line the scope up first, ask each dealer to rewrite the affected line items, then compare the revised totals. |
The matrix exists to produce a fair comparison, not a verdict. Two identically scoped quotes on E-Series and Ultimate are comparable; two differently scoped ones are not, however tempting the totals look. Once the rows match, take both into the Window Quote Analyzer and finish the numbers there. If either quote is still missing categories, work through what a window quote should include first, and why window quotes vary so much explains where totals move when scope changes.
If you are actually comparing a different tier
This page assumes both bids are architectural, made-to-order, extruded-aluminum-clad products. Two situations mean you are somewhere else:
- One bid is a mainstream clad-wood line. If the Andersen quote is a 400 Series or the Marvin quote is an Elevate, you are comparing tiers, not products, and the material story reappears. Read Andersen 400 vs Marvin Elevate instead — it covers Perma-Shield vinyl cladding against Ultrex fiberglass, which is a genuinely different conversation from this one.
- One bid is a replacement-brand product. Infinity by Marvin and Renewal by Andersen are separate brands with their own warranties and sales models, not the Signature or Architectural lines. Our Renewal by Andersen quote decoder covers that model.
For the underlying product records, see the Andersen E-Series and Marvin Ultimate entries in our window brands catalog.
What we could not compare
Neither manufacturer publishes installed pricing, a line-wide U-factor range, or any test data that would let anyone rank the two extruded aluminum cladding systems against each other. We have no national dollar-per-opening figure for either line and we are not going to estimate one, because at this tier the spread between two legitimate quotes on the same house is driven by the scope items above rather than by any average. Those gaps are left open rather than filled in.
Sources
- Andersen E-Series windows and patio doors
- Andersen window and patio door sizing (custom sizes in 1/8-inch increments)
- Andersen E-Series Window and Door Limited Warranty (PDF)
- Andersen warranty documents (check for the version current to your purchase date)
- Marvin Ultimate collection
- Marvin Ultimate Specialty Shape window
- Marvin Window and Door Limited Warranty (PDF)
- Marvin product warranties index (Marvin Limited Warranty effective January 12, 2026)
We earn nothing from these links. Specifications and warranty terms vary by configuration and change between model years — read the warranty document current to your own purchase date before you sign.